Welcome to my website !

An extensive virtual collection of interesting stuff...



USA 2013 West & East

USA 2013 West & East - The WestUSA 2013 West & East - The West USA 2013 West & East - The EastUSA 2013 West & East - The East

A double vacation, in every sense...

The initial idea was to have just a trip in the west, like the previous ones we had in the past years, with the addition of one week in New York City, like usual.

Then we thought it was good to have a little trip in the east too, and we made a plan including two weeks of travelling along the east coast too, with a few days at a sea resort in Long Island.

And the final crazy plan included a stop over at Reykjavik in Iceland (see related info tab above).

Use the Article navigation bar drop down list above to browse through this vacation diary.

From there you can see the report of each day of the vacation, and you also have the option to see All pages together.

USA_2013-07-07 10-59-52_IMG_1111
USA_2013-07-07 10-59-52_IMG_1111
USA_2013-07-08 16-51-22_IMG_1337
USA_2013-07-08 16-51-22_IMG_1337

Also, you can find all the photos from this vacation in the My Photos section.

USA 2013 West & East - Downtown ReykjavikUSA 2013 West & East - Downtown Reykjavik USA 2013 West & East - IcelandUSA 2013 West & East - Iceland

Looking for the best airfare, I found the interesting option to flight to the USA via Reykjavik.

Reykjavik, and Iceland in general, has always been a place I wanted to go to... "just to know how it is like"... And there was an interesting possibility to try it, a chance that I decided not to miss.

For a surcharge of 200 (or 300?) Euros, it was worth it.
Now that I've seen how it is, I doubt that I will go there again.

Summary of the vacation

Day
WhatNotes
01 Jul 2013 (Mon)Milan - Reykjavik
02 Jul 2013 (Tue)Reykjavik - Boston - San Francisco
03 Jul 2013 (Wed)San Francisco
  • Fishermens Wharf
  • Pier 39
04 Jul 2013 (Thu)San Francisco
  • Coit Tower
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Pier 39
  • Alcatraz
  • Fishermens Wharf
05 Jul 2013 (Fri)San Francisco - Carmel - Monterey
  • Coit Tower
  • Lombard Street
  • Fishermens Wharf
06 Jul 2013 (Sat)Monterey - Visalia
  • Cannery Row
  • Fisherman's Wharf
07 Jul 2013 (Sun)Sequoia National Park - Bartstow
08 Jul 2013 (Mon)Barstow - Las Vegas
  • Baker
  • Shoshone
  • Bad Water
  • Zabriskie Point
  • Dante's View
  • Pahrump
09 Jul 2013 (Tue)Las Vegas - Panguitch
10 Jul 2013 (Wed)Bryce Canyon - Moab
11 Jul 2013 (Thu)Moab
  • Arches National Park
12 Jul 2013 (Fri)Moab
  • Dead Horse Point
  • Colorado River along UT128
13 Jul 2013 (Sat)Moab
  • Colorado River along UT279 and UT128
  • Dead Horse Point
  • Dinner at Pasta Jay
14 Jul 2013 (Sun)Moab - Monument Valley
  • Hole In The Rock
15 Jul 2013 (Mon)Monument Valley
  • UT163
  • Goosnecks
  • Valley Of The Gods
  • Natural Bridges
  • Mexican hat
16 Jul 2013 (Tue)Monument Valley - Grand Canyon Village
  • Kayenta
  • Tuba City
  • Cameron trading post
17 Jul 2013 (Wed)Grand Canyon - Sedona
  • Meteor Crater
18 Jul 2013 (Thu)Sedona
19 Jul 2013 (Fri)Sedona - Tucson
20 Jul 2013 (Sat)Tucson
  • Saguaro National Park
21 Jul 2013 (Sun)Tucson - Phoenix
22 Jul 2013 (Mon)Phoenix
  • Downtown Phoenix
  • State Capitol Building
  • Downtown Scottsdale
23 Jul 2013 (Tue)Phoenix - New York City
24 Jul 2013 (Wed)New York City
  • Canal Street
  • Brooklyn Heights & Promenade
  • Brooklyn Bridge park
25 Jul 2013 (Thu)New York City
  • Pier 17
  • Empire State Building
26 Jul 2013 (Fri)New York City - Montauk
27 Jul 2013 (Sat)Montauk
28 Jul 2013 (Sun)Montauk
  • Montauk Point
  • Montauk Harbour
29 Jul 2013 (Mon)Montauk
30 Jul 2013 (Tue)Montauk
31 Jul 2013 (Wed)Montauk - New York City - Cape Cod
  • Pier 17
  • Greenwhich
01 Aug 2013 (Thu)Cape Cod
02 Aug 2013 (Fri)Cape Cod - Wells ME
  • Plymouth
  • Portland
03 Aug 2013 (Sat)Wells - Boston MA
  • Hampton NH
  • Newburyport MA
04 Aug 2013 (Sun)Boston
05 Aug 2013 (Mon)Boston
06 Aug 2013 (Tue)Boston - Reykjavik
07 Aug 2013 (Wed)Reykjavik - Milan

Login Form